Playing the bigger games in life...

Animal Welfare workshop at DPS School on 28th October

28/10/2010 20:06

Dear All,

The workshop today was a great success at DPS School. There were 150 children from junior and senior wing both. The response was just amazing, with the children so excited about the whole animal welfare movement, how they can help directly indirectly, the list of animal NGO / shelters in Delhi for support, the laws available, the bare facts about cruelty done on them, which to us seems like a normal thing. The children connected so well and shared so much about the situations they face in their neighborhood, and how some of them have been helping animals with feeding and sterilization.

We initiated the Lucky Dip / Jumble sale event to collect artifacts / books / cd-dvds or any such item which the children can collect from anyone, to be given away as gifts in exchange of tickets sold to others. So end of it, everyone gets to be a winner by getting a valuable item in exchange of a meager 50-100 Rs ticket. As FashionPotato initiative (I managed to convince the management to use the name officially and got a flex stand made overnight, though I had already planned to use it with or without their permission), I donated a piece of my pottery worth Rs 2000 as a small contribution towards this event, which can turn into an Inter-DPS kind of periodic event.

There was media coverage by Living Media who covered the whole event and end of it Mrs Ambika Shukla gave a good 20 minute interview. Soon the press releases will be sent out to other media for a print in next month’s issue.

I invited over my guests to my work place and introduced them to my VPO and COO. My COO also dropped in for 10 minutes, which was a good encouragement. My team members were present for the event too and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it.

There has been just a whole lot excitement during the entire event, and soon I shall be sharing the pictures and video of the same with you all.

Cheers,
Pooja
 

See Workshop Photos

Back

Search site

Self Expression and Leadership Program